a better nacho

This summer at Camp Endeavor I will be leading a lot of cooking classes and I couldn’t be more excited! Last year we made Spring Rolls and they were a big hit, I love seeing kids try new foods and enjoy things they don’t think they will. I wanted to test out some new recipes before camp starts and this one is so delicious I had to share!

After watching Food Revolution, I was really inspired by Jamie’s addition of vegetables in everyday dishes like sloppy joes and nachos. In a quest for healthier alternatives to kid favorites I thought that nachos would be a great meal to have the kids at camp prepare as well as a recipe that they could then prepare for their families once they returned home.

The mission: Make nachos into a healthy meal and include as many vegetables as possible.

The result: A filling, well-rounded meal that is stuffed with vegetables and enjoyed by everyone – kids and adults.

Beef & Veggie Nachos – 4 servings

  • 16 oz grassfed beef
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 zucchini, chopped
  • 4 oz mushrooms, roughly chopped
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 can fiesta corn, drained
  • seasonings: cumin, cayenne pepper, salt & pepper
  • tortilla chips
  • shredded cheese
  • toppings: chopped tomatoes, green onions, black olives, lettuce, salsa and sour cream
  • 1 can refried black beans

Heat large pan. Add beef and onions to pan, cooking for about 4 minutes. Add zucchini, mushrooms, peppers and seasonings. Let simmer until no pink meat remains, about 4-5 minutes.

Heat can of refried beans or black beans and turn on broiler. Layer tortilla chips on pan. Top with beans, beef mixture and top with a sprinkle of cheese. Broil until the cheese has melted, about 3-4 minutes.

Serve nachos with additional toppings and napkins. 🙂



12 Comments

Filed under beans, cheese, eating experiment, great meals, lose weight, protein, Recipes, Uncategorized, vegetables, whole foods, whole grains

12 responses to “a better nacho

  1. Looks very fresh and delicious, I’ll have to try this out.

  2. Yum, I can never eat just plain meat and cheese nachos. I love the addition of fresh veggies.

  3. Here, here! I think this is an ace idea. I was actually thinking about making healthy nachos last night but didn’t quite have enough veg on hand! I would vote for black beans in this too!

  4. actorsdiet

    great job! i know the kiddies will love it.

  5. and avocado! don’t forget the avocado!

  6. yum! i am craving nachos right now. is this day over yet?

  7. thehealthyjunky

    Yum! These nachos look good. I should have had these tonight instead of my mexican quesadilla.

  8. Kate

    sounds good! i really really the concept of the camp too (your link wasn’t working but i googled it). really important lessons you guys are teaching.

  9. Jennifer

    I love this!! I am always looking for as many ways as possible to cram a ton of veggies into every meal! 🙂

  10. Love it!
    Sounds like a great job! I bet it is fun working with the kids!

Leave a Reply

