truffled deviled eggs

One thing I’ve been wanting to make since I received truffle salt is deviled eggs – with truffle. Doesn’t it just sound heavenly? I tried it in scrambled eggs, which turns them into a decadent treat but deviled eggs was next on my list.

I figured these upscaled deviled eggs could benefit from the addition of caramelized shallots in replacement of raw onions- a decision that I can confidently say, was a good one.

They would make the perfect cocktail party fare or be a wonderful addition to a brunch. Either way they are sure to impress.

Truffled Deviled Eggs – makes 16

  • 8 hard-boiled eggs
  • 1 shallot, minced
  • 1/2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 3 Tbsp light mayonnaise
  • 1 tsp mustard
  • 1 1/2 tsp truffle salt
  • pepper
  • chives

Peel eggs and cut in half, lengthwise, being careful not to break the whites. Remove yolks and set in a medium size bowl. Heat olive oil in pan over medium heat and add shallots, cooking until starting to brown, about 4-5 minutes. Add shallots and remaining ingredients to egg yolk bowl and mash to combine. Fill egg whites with yolk mixture. Top with chopped chives if desired.

18 Comments

Filed under appetizers, eggs, fats, herbs, protein, Recipes, Uncategorized

18 responses to “truffled deviled eggs

  1. thehealthyjunky

    These eggs look great ๐Ÿ™‚ I like the idea of using sauteed shallots.

  2. Yum! I haven’t had deviled eggs before. I don’t like the taste of mayo, though; I wonder if there’s another substance that could replace it? Hmmm.

  3. Tes

    It looks so beautiful. I can’t wait to try it on my next party. Thanks for the recipe.

  4. I’m not a huge fan of deviled eggs, but I bet the addition of truffle salt might change my mind. I still have to find that!

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention truffled deviled eggs ยซ A Nutritionist Eats -- Topsy.com

  6. I love deviled eggs… but always forget about them! I need to get me some truffle salt and make these ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Coming from someone who has never had real truffle *anything* in their life, and truthfully never really liked deviled eggs, they look gorgeous. ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. Omg, I love truffles and I LOVE deviled eggs. What could be tastier?

  9. Kate

    you are my food solemate! i love deviled eggs and have not meet a truffled item that i didn’t like. YUM!

    i had some really good popcorn with truffle oil and parmasan at the 318.

  10. actorsdiet

    one word – YUM

  11. WOW-that sounds absolutely decadent. I love deviled eggs!

  12. i need a new egg recipe! thanks!

Leave a Reply

