maple & goat cheese wontons

I don’t know about you but if I’m at a Chinese restaurant, there is a good chance I’m getting cream cheese wontons. I’m not sure what it is, but I just can’t resist them. Crunchy on the outside, creamy cheese on the inside and just plain good.

But what about a sweet twist on the typically savory? I had some honey goat cheese in the freezer and just had a feeling that with some maple crystals, that I had been wondering what to do with for quite some time, this could be transformed to a delicious treat.

Unfortunately baking doesn’t give it that same crispy shell as frying does, but maple goat cheese trumps cream cheese any day. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Maple & Goat Cheese Wontons – 4 pieces

  • 2 Tbsp honey goat cheese (or plain)
  • 1 Tbsp maple granules
  • 4 wonton wrappers
  • real maple syrup

Pre-heat the oven to 375ยฐ F.

Mix the goat cheese and maple granules together until smooth, heating in the microwave for a few seconds if necessary. Lay out 4 wonton wrappers on the counter, and have some water handy. Place 1/2 Tbsp of filling in the center of each wonton. Wet the edges with water and fold in half so that it forms a triangle. Pinch edges together to form a seal. Fold bottom corners in and pinch together.

Bake for about 15 minutes, until golden brown. Drizzle with maple syrup before serving if desired.


16 Comments

Filed under adventures in baking, cheese, dessert, Uncategorized

16 responses to “maple & goat cheese wontons

  1. erica

    I just made a goat cheese and honey muffin last night and they were great! I am going to have to give these a try as well since I have a recent obsession with goat cheese.

  2. Umm good grief. These look the bomb! So imaginative, I love it!

  3. Mo

    You had me at goat cheese! I’m not a fan of cream cheese, but I love me some goat cheese, especially combined with something sweet.

  4. These look so yummy! I love the combo of goat cheese and honey. I’ve never used maple granules… sounds interesting. I’ll have to give this a try!

  5. those looks so good! so that’s what you did with the maple crystals. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. actorsdiet

    i’ve never had a cream cheese wonton! interesting.

  7. I’m with you…I can’t get chinese unless it includes a crab rangoon…so bad for you, but so good at the same time!

  8. This is AMAZING! I have made egg rolls before, but never wontons. I am so making these this weekend! Thanks for the great recipe.

  9. Kate

    these sound sooooo good! have you tried the cranberry creamcheese wantons at azia? i am not a fan of that place but i do love those wantons ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. I’m slightly OBSESSED with goat cheese so anything with that ingredient count me in!!

  11. jilljub310

    Wow these sound delish! I also just found your blog and I’m loving it ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. I don’t know why it showed up as my photo blog for my family! But this is my real blog!

  13. Michelle

    I did not know that you could freeze goat cheese….thank you for THAT, I can now go stock up at Trader Joe’s (cheapest in my area for goat cheese)! And…the wontons look FABULOUS!

Leave a Reply

