pear, feta & walnut salad

I love salads. I’m not the kind of person who eats salad because I feel like I have to, I eat salads because I love vegetables, and they don’t leave me feeling too-full. With that said, I can always use some new salad combinations and this may be the new one to make it on my lunch menu. Not only does it not require much prep, the feta and walnuts make it satisfying enough for a main meal. I made this salad to go alongside some kebabs and it was the perfect accompaniment after a weekend of indulgent food and drink. The feta and pear combination is one that I will be using again – it was delicious.

Pear, Feta & Walnut Salad – 6 servings

  • 1 pear, thinly sliced
  • 4 oz feta cheese
  • 1/2 cup toasted walnuts
  • 1 head romaine lettuce
  • 1 head bibb lettuce

Shallot Vinaigrette

  • 1 small shallot, minced
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • juice of one lemon
  • 2 Tbsp mint, chopped

Assemble salads in large bowl or on individual plates. Layer the feta and pear over greens. Sprinkle walnuts on top and drizzle with shallot vinaigrette. Serve immediately.


10 Comments

Filed under cheese, fruit, herbs, nuts, Recipes, salad, Uncategorized, vegetables

10 responses to “pear, feta & walnut salad

  1. actorsdiet

    feta is so great with fruit – have you ever had it with watermelon and mint? delish!

  2. it was delicious!! i just saw your roasted edamame recipe. can’t wait to try it out tonight–we some how managed to stock pile three bags of them. need to eat up what’s in the freezer before the move!

  3. I love fruit mixed with cheese and other savory ingredients in a salad. My FAVORITE is apple, walnuts, fennel, and blue cheese on mixed baby greens. My mouth is watering just thinking about it!

  4. Mo

    Mmmm…I bet that mint in the dressing goes splendid with the fruit and cheese on the salad. I also love pears with blue cheese on a salad. So many yummy combinations – that make salads fun.

  5. thehealthyjunky

    That dressing looks tasty. Anything with mint wins me over. It adds a refreshing taste to almost anything.

  6. oc2seattle

    Such a great combo – I love pears and cheese (especially blue cheese) in salad.

  7. Yum! I love feta with fruit (I second that watermellon comment – the best!) and, of course, crunchy nuts in salads are a must. Your vinagrette looks lovely!

  8. i know i say this all the time, but i really love how simple + chic your recipes are. so many good ideas for spicing up salads!

Leave a Reply

