avocado & lime coleslaw

I had planned on quesadillas for dinner but wanted a veggie side or salad to go along with them so I decided to make a Mexican-inspired coleslaw. I had the various ingredients that I might want to use but the end result came to me during yoga. Great, my mind is supposed to be clear and I’m thinking about food. Shocking, isn’t it?

Maybe it was the clear yoga mind, or maybe not, but regardless, this dressing was creamy, bright and full of lime flavor. Perfectly refreshing after non-focused hot yoga. We served it alongside quesadillas but it would be amazing as a topping for fish tacos or nachos.

Avocado & Lime Coleslaw

  • 4 cups chinese cabbage, shredded
  • 2 Tbsp red onion, minced (if desired)
  • 1 cup + 1 Tbsp. cilantro
  • 1/2 avocado
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1/2 Tbsp olive oil
  • water to thin dressing as needed
  • salt, pepper

Combine cabbage, red onion and 1 Tbsp of minced cilantro. Set aside.

Combine remaining ingredients in blender and blend until smooth. Add water as needed. Toss with cabbage mixture with dressing and let refrigerate for at least 20 minutes.



21 Comments

Filed under antioxidants, fats, herbs, raw foods, Recipes, salad, Uncategorized, vegan, vegetables

21 responses to “avocado & lime coleslaw

  1. Chelsea Ward

    This looks equal amounts of zesty and delicious. I want to make grilled fish tacos just so I can top them with this!

  2. thehealthyjunky

    Did I tell you before how much I enjoy your simple recipes that look and sound ridiculously awesome!
    This looks great!

  3. Yum! This does sound like the perfect side for a quesadilla 🙂

  4. Ok, seriously-every single dish you make always looks and sound soo good! Can you come cook for me? I love this southwestern take on coleslaw. What a brilliant idea!

  5. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

  6. Oh, my does that sound refreshing. I can’t wait to try it. Good thing avocados are 3 for a dollar at Sprouts this week!

  7. actorsdiet

    you’re right this would be great with fish tacos!

  8. Marie

    YUM! That sounds amazing! Combining two of my favorite things – Mexican Food & Coleslaw! I also love that you were thinking about food during yoga 🙂

  9. I’m always thinking about food during yoga, too — road-mapping my attack on dinner, etc. 🙂

  10. This sounds like a bite of heaven! Cant wait to make my own. Thanks for a great recipe!

  11. Katherine: What About Summer?

    What a good idea! This is something I could definitely try (recipes aren’t my strong point but I’m feeling confident about this one!)
    Katherine

  12. Kate

    what a great idea! we seriously need to have a minneapolis bloggie potluck in the very near future. i shall get on this ASAP!

  13. This sounds delicious, a new and easy twist on coleslaw 🙂

  14. I have been on a slaw kick lately. It must be the warmer weather. I love it and the dressing on this sounds great. I recently found a recipe for another salad dressing with avocado and I’m really interested in trying it now.

  15. Michelle

    This sounds great…..except that I really can’t stand cilantro…LOL! Any suggestions on a substitution? 🙂

  16. I love how simple and healthy this is plus I am a total sucker for cabbage, any cabbage any form I can eat it for days. I love this avocado dressing that can be used on everything/anything. Yummy !!!

  17. i think i just want to eat this over and over again. lime + cilantro are two of my favorite flavors!

Leave a Reply

