in my cupboard: kashi heart to heart

I don’t eat cereal for breakfast. Ever. It just doesn’t work for me – it leaves me hungry about 10 minutes after eating it and I cannot be hungry before my morning commute has even started! Now this is not to say that I don’t enjoy cereal – I actually love it and lately I’ve been buying Kashi’s Heart to Heart cereal. I just don’t have it for breakfast.

I prefer my cereal at night as a snack/dessert and some hearts with almond milk are my current obsession. It isn’t overly sweet, but sweet enough to feel like dessert! Since I do treat it as a dessert I don’t mind the sugar content, but it is a pet-peeve of mine that so many cereals (even natural and organic ones) have so much sugar in them! Is it really necessary?

Question: Are you able to eat cereal in the morning without being hungry right after you eat?

12 Comments

Filed under in my cupboard, product review, whole grains

12 responses to “in my cupboard: kashi heart to heart

  1. For some reason cereal does fill me up. Of course, I have a huge bowl and put lots of high fiber bran cereals, granola and clusters all in there. It usually holds me 4-4/12 hours.

  2. Like you, cereal will not keep me full for very long. I will eat it if I’m short on time or if I know I have a meal planned shortly after I eat breakfast and I intentianally don’t want to fill up, but don’t want to be starving in the meantime.

  3. I don’t just eat cereal, I will mix it with things or use it for a snack.

  4. Molly

    i usually eat cereal…10 bowls at a time. I love it so much on top of the fact I NEVER get full.

  5. I haven’t had cereal in more than a year! That is intresting that you still feel hungry afterwards

  6. I love cereal, and it does fill me up for breakfast. I just have to make sure it has plenty of fiber. If its low on fiber then I get hungry.

  7. I don’t have cereal for breakfast either. I used to eat it all the time but would be starving an hour after I ate it!
    Lot of “healthy looking food” actually has a high sugar content. It is so important to check out the Nutritional info on everything!

  8. I’m the same way with cereal. I’m just never hungry afterwards. so now I use it with greek yogurt as a snack or dessert.

  9. I haven’t bought boxed cereal in a long time, probably years. I make my own granola, which if I decide to have it for breakfast, does a pretty good job of filling me up! I enjoy the granola with full-fat (!) plain yogurt and blueberries.

    Know what breakfast doesn’t work for me? Oatmeal. It usually gives me heartburn, and even though I eat until I feel almost uncomfortably stuffed, I’m hungry again in an hour. Actually, I have this “hungry in an hour” problem with most breakfasts. Fat-filled breakfasts seem to be the only ones that keep me full until lunch — yogurt with nut-filled granola, whole-grain peanut butter toast, Pro bars, etc. Sigh!

    • It is so interesting to me that everyone is so different on what works for them! I have just started embracing oatmeal again – but always with nut butter for some fat! I like fat in the morning too!

  10. I totally can’t eat cereal without feeling hungry. I am not a huge breakfast person, but cereal just doesn’t cut it for me. I find that I feel better with a little bit of fruit+protein.

  11. I NEVER get full from cereal. It is probably due to the fact that I exercise first thing in the morning though. I like to have it mixed in with yogurt for a snack! Yum!

Leave a Reply

