in my cupboard: kombucha

source

I finally get kombucha. It is an acquired taste, much like coconut water and olives were to me. And the other afternoon when I actually enjoyed kombucha, it really left me feeling good. Maybe it was a placebo effect, maybe I was just in a good mood, but this is a habit I could get into. Like I really need another expensive food/health habit…so for the time being it will remain a treat and I’ll stock up when it is on sale. 😉

My favorite flavors so far are the divine grape and guava goddess. I haven’t had the straight-up kombucha yet – give me a few more bottles with fruit first!

While the benefits of kombucha can be argued (can’t everything?) a few of the health claims taken from GT Kombucha website are that the Synergy Kombucha contains:

  • probiotics (for healthy digestion and immune system)
  • enzymes (which aid in digestion)
  • polyphenols (antioxidants)
  • organic acids (help promote homeostasis)

Do you love or hate kombucha?

12 Comments

Filed under antioxidants, cocktails, fruit, in my cupboard, raw foods, Uncategorized, vegan

12 responses to “in my cupboard: kombucha

  1. Anna

    When you first recommended this to me months ago – PUKE! But now I drink the Strawberry flavor- especially when I am feeling like I am getting sick or need some extra energy!

  2. Still haven’t tried it, but I’m pretty good with the acquired taste type of foods. Love coconut water and whiskey goes down pretty easy now. Ha, ha! I’ll have to give it a try.

  3. I still have not given it a try. It is sort of pricy I am still waiting to catch a sale 🙂

  4. I have a bottle in my fridge I have yet to try. I’m still scared of the “floaty” stuff.

  5. Molly

    yes it is for sure an aquired taste. For a while it tasted like a wine spritzer to me? but I love it now!

  6. LOVE IT!! I don’t know why, but I crave it! I stocked up last week when I found them on sale for $1.99 per bottle. The only problem is that I’m drinking them at a faster rate. Divine Grape is my favorite too. The mango is pretty good as well.

  7. SO GOOD! The Gingerade flavor is the best ever! Also, since there’s no glass recycling where I live the bottles make great BPA free water bottles and they’re also a good shape/ size to reuse as a vase.

  8. I have seen this all over the blog world! It has so many benefits, I have to try it out! Thank you for sharing.

  9. I’ve never tried this before. I would, if I got one for free. But it’s just so expensive! I heard such mixed reviews about it to leave me intrigued, though.

  10. Kate

    my bank account was so much happier before i met kombucha! i love the trilogy. it is a mix of lemon, ginger and raspberry.

  11. LOVE kombucha and I need to start making my own because I’m breaking the bank by buying these.

Leave a Reply

