greek pasta salad

Every week I rack my brain for what to take for lunch the following week. And sometimes it feels as though looking for new lunch ideas is a part-time job. Which I know, and the taster reminds me, is so very ridiculous.  I love salads, but they sometimes leave me hungry at 2:30. I love soups, but get sick of them if I eat it a few times. Basically, I’m downright picky about my lunches.

Looking for: light, healthy, easily packed, quickly made, filling and bonus points if it can be made on Sunday afternoon

Found: A greek pasta salad that fits all of the above criteria and was even tastier than I expected!

Greek Pasta Salad Recipe: 2-3 lunch portions

  • 2 cups cooked 100% whole grain pasta
  • 1 cup garbanzo beans
  • 1 cup cucumber, chopped
  • 1/2 cup roasted red pepper, chopped
  • about 6 kalamata olives, chopped
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese, crumbled
  • spices: pepper, red pepper flakes, herbamare

Toss all ingredients together in a large bowl and portion out for lunches!

I served my pasta salad alongside some Pacific Organic Roasted Red Pepper & Tomato Soup with spinach stirred in.

16 Comments

Filed under beans, cheese, olives, pasta, Recipes, salad, vegetables, whole foods, whole grains

16 responses to “greek pasta salad

  1. decapode

    Oh, that’s awesome! Definitely gonna try that one out.

  2. that sounds so good! i am totally going crazy with the “comfort food” time of year. i am so ready for fresh fruits and veggies. this salad would be a good transition dish and get me through till spring!

  3. oh my gosh this sounds amazing!! anything with pasta and chickpeas is a winner in my book 🙂

  4. Sounds wonderful and looks very tasty!

  5. savoringsarah

    You had me at “Greek”

    Is that cavatappi pasta??

  6. I adore Greek pasta salad. This looks really good. I may have to whip this up. We face the same challenge with making hubby’s lunch M-F.

  7. Molly

    this looks so good! I love any kind of greek salad, and adding chic peas puts it over the top. yum!

  8. I love a good pasta salad 🙂

  9. actorsdiet

    sometimes i just peruse my fave restaurants for their lunch menus for inspiration. maybe you can do that too?

  10. That looks so good!

    I also feel like coming up with new and interesting meal ideas is like a part time job. Which I guess is the reason people turn to convenience foods.

  11. YUM! I love a good pasta salad and feta cheese is always a favorite addition.

  12. what is herbamare?

    this looks amazing, but quite frankly, anything that is greek is usually good to go in my book 🙂

Leave a Reply

