biscuits

Baking. It was on my weekend to-do list and for the first weekend in a few, it wasn’t ignored and it actually happened. I was debating between pumpkin scones and english muffins but I decided on biscuits because that little packet of yeast required for the english muffins makes me so nervous! (Next weekend I’ll have to include yeast on the to-do list!)

The recipe sounded easy enough and I appreciated the flour substitution suggestions – I ended up using 2 cups all-purpose flour and 1 cup whole-wheat pastry flour. This ratio worked well, I couldn’t even tell there was any whole-grain flour. (Which may be important for some)

They were fabulous with some butter, jam and coffee and also made a fabulous egg sandwich for brunch.

Can I call myself a baker yet?

8 Comments

Filed under adventures in baking, coffee, Recipes, whole grains

8 responses to “biscuits

  1. Emily, this looks great! I’m having biscuit making issues. I just can’t seem to find the right recipe.

    I’m gonna try yours 🙂

  2. Seriously?!? Yes you are a baker!

    Those look amazing! How hard were they to make? I’m a novice at cooking but would love to try making these biscuits.

  3. Wow! I’d sure call you a baker!

  4. I love homemade biscuits. These look so great. A baker you are! 🙂 I love that breakfast stack up you got going there too. Yum!

  5. Chelsea Ward

    Those biscuits turned out to be beauts! I love the little egg mcmuffin/slide treat at the end there.

    You’re not alone, yeast terrifies me too. I’ve yet to dabble with it, and I know I should, because I’d love to make my own pizza dough someday.

  6. actorsdiet

    i’m sure impressed with your baking skillz!!

Leave a Reply

