In Season: Green Beans

I heart green beans. They are definitely up there on my “favorite veggie” list. I have a constant supply of frozen hericot verts in my freezer throughout the winter but there is something to say about fresh green beans – I love how the beans from the Farmer’s Market are never perfectly shaped and sized. It makes them real. Now that they are in season I haven’t touched my frozen stash. Have no fear, I’ll be back soon 🙂

My favorite way to prepare? Simple and easy.
1 lb. green beans
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tbsp olive oil
Salt & pepper
Crushed red pepper (for some heat!)

Saute it all together now…

My very veggie-meal (it was needed after a day of barely any veggies and an indulgent day/night before) Green beans, zucchini with a sriracha sour-cream and Rach’s Tomato, Avocado & Hearts of Palm salad.

Green Bean Goodness

What is your favorite vegetable?

4 Comments

Filed under antioxidants, eating local, farmers market, in season, Recipes, vegetables

4 responses to “In Season: Green Beans

  1. Mrs. Myers @ Eat Move Write

    My favorite vegetable is cauliflower… or spinach. I also reallllly love broccoli, zucchini and green beans. I notice I tend to eat TONS of green veggies. Not so much of the rest of the rainbow. I need to change that.

  2. THE ACTORS DIET

    i have such fond memories helping my mom prep string beans as a kid….also helping her choose them at the grocery store – they don't really do that anymore, do they? now they come packaged.

  3. burpandslurp

    I used to despise green beans, but that was because I only tried the fried, greasy, oil-drenched Chinese version. Now I adore them, esp just simply steamed with some seasonings and retaining its fresh crunch.
    My fav veggie is still broccoli, though!

  4. Peanut Butter Swirl

    steamed broccoli is my favorite veggie ever!! I have at least 2 cups every night 🙂 haha

Leave a Reply

