French Onion Dip & Potato Chips: Made-over

I came across two recipes on the EatingWell website and previous to this I never knew that you could make potato chips in the microwave?!?! Well apparently you can and I did.

Find the recipe here – but it is as simple as can be – slice, toss with olive oil and salt and microwave. (I love knowing that there are only 3 ingredients involved) My slices took a little longer than the recipe said but they might have been a little thick, but they ended up crispy and crunchy! I can’t wait to make my sweet potato chips in the microwave when I’m short on time.
I also made some French Onion Dip – recipe found here and loosely followed the recipe, it turned out delicious and I think would be a big hit at a BBQ or picnic.  It was reminiscent of the old favorite, but much tastier and sans weird ingredients and preservatives.

5 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Snack of the Day, whole foods

5 responses to “French Onion Dip & Potato Chips: Made-over

  1. The Actors Diet

    Say What?! Potato Chips in the Microwave? Life is good!

  2. Meg

    Looks delicious!

  3. MaryBeth Hughes

    who knew? i can't wait to try it out!

  4. eatme_delicious

    Ooo yea I was really excited when I found out I could make potato chips in the microwave! Though I found they didn't evenly crisp up. The dip sounds delicious!

  5. Cafe Cyan

    FatFree Vegan had microwave potato chips on her site awhile back and I've been making them ever since. Pretty much a similar process minus the olive oil. I love it because I like my chips burnt and you can't find many burnt chips in the chip bags anymore!

    I have a $$ saving idea for you…don't buy Salad Girl salad dressing. Make your own instead! (Ok, secret confession – I totally want to try Salad Girl salad dressings, but they are so dang expensive that I have to walk away every time.)

Leave a Reply

